Revive us according to… Psalms 119

Introduction

Revival, renewal, awakening, outpouring and transformation are words commonly used to describe something special taking place in a church, city, or region.  Sometimes a genuine work or God is being described, while other times it is simply special extended meetings that a group proclaims to be a revival.

About 20 times in the New King James Version of the Bible the words revive or revival are used in the context of spiritual awakening.  Of these nine are found in Psalms 119Also in each of these nine references the phrase “revive me according to…” or “revive me in Your…” are used.  Three times the prayer revive me according to Your word is used, but looking at the context three different aspects of God word is being requested.  Twice revive me according to your lovingkindness is written, but these also, in very different contexts.  Hopefully these meditations will be useful in helping us recognize genuine revivals, seeing them grow deeper and wider, and preventing us from misjudging because this one doesn’t look like that one.

Completed

119:25 Revive me according to Your WORD – (Truth)

Coming sooner…. or later 🙂

119:37 Revive me in Your WAY (Path)

119:40 Revive me in Your RIGHTEOUSNESS (Grace)

119:88 Revive me according to Your LOVINGKINDNESS (Help)

119:107 Revive me according to Your WORD – (Direction)

119:149 Revive me according to Your JUSTICE (Establish)

119:154 Revive me according to Your WORD – (Deliverance)

119:156 Revive me according to Your JUDGEMENTS (Victory)

119:159 Revive me according to Your LOVINGKINDNESS (Devoted)

Leave a Reply

